Home » Please Read All the Information

Please Read All the Information

Quick facts:

  • NEW: I will be closed every other Saturday but will be open every other Sunday starting in May. I may extend my hours or open up additional days if my business pickup.
  • Used tax will be collected if California sales tax was not collected. Read more here: https://ffl-dealer.com/start-here/#taxes
  • Where to buy ammo online? https://ffl-dealer.com/online-ammo/
  • Customers have 30 calendar days to pick up your firearms, unless other arrangements have been made between the customer and the FFL Dealer Manager. Read more here.
  • I must have the firearm in my possession to do the transfer so wait before requesting an appointment.
  • If you are in a hurry, purchasing firearms/ammo online is a slow process. 1-2 weeks to deliver and 10 days before you can take your guns home. FedEx Ground will add additional 1 to 2 weeks.
  • If you use marijuana or other illicit drugs, you are considered by the Federal Government to be ineligible to own a firearm.
FFL / CFD License / Business Hours


FFL and CFD link / download

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Gs5QsZXK45LC2pGU_-996SphpTUKQyWO/view?usp=sharing

Holidays and Office closed

May 27-30, 2022 Memorial Day

June 16 – June 20, 2022 Juneteenth Day

September 2-5, 2022 Labor Day

Oct 7 – 10, 2022 Indigenous People’s Day

Nov 11-14, 2022 Veteran’s Day

Dec 23-25, 2022 Christmas

Dec 30 – Jan 4 2023

By Appointment Only

HOURS

Monday / Wednesday / Friday 3pm – 9pm

Every Other Sunday 11am – 5pm

Address:
170 N. Wolfe Road Suite 1
Sunnyvale, CA 94086



How to contact me?

Please use the contact form to email me or you can use FFLDealerSunnyvale@gmail.com. Generally, I can respond to email faster than text or voice mail. Text friendly phone: 408-603-5259.

Required Documentation RIFLES

By law, you must have proper documents to purchase a firearm.  If you are missing any required documents on the first day of our appointment, we will have to reschedule. You can send the documents to me via email if you are not sure if it is acceptable.

Rifles

(*Semi-automatic, bolt action, single shot, etc.)

REQUIRED:

ID:

  • DMV ID or Driver’s license
  • Valid military ID with permanent duty station orders posting in California.

Firearm Safety Certificate:

  • If you do not have one, please let me know ahead.  You’ll be able to take the test prior to filling out the required forms.
  • Please come 15 min. early (except for 3pm appointment).

FSD Requirement: All firearm will require a firearm safety device: read more here: https://ffl-dealer.com/start-here/#fsd

Take a look at your ID/driver’s license:

  • ID/driver’s license without current address?  Go here:  https://ffl-dealer.com/start-here/#noaddress
  • ID/driver’s license “Federal Limits Apply”?  Go here: https://ffl-dealer.com/start-here/#fedlimitapply
  • Not a US Citizen?
    • Bring your permanent residency card (green card).
    • I-94 with a hunting license is required for those with work visas.
  • ID/driver’s license with “Real ID” w current address: – You are good to go!!

Temporary driver licenses and temporary identification cards are NOT accepted forms of proof of identity and age.

Read more here: https://oag.ca.gov/firearms/dlrfaqs#14G

*What is the 1-30 day law?

You can only receive one handgun, or one semi-automatic centerfire rifle a 30 day period. 

  • This rule does apply to ALL HANDGUNS & semi-automatic centerfire rifles*.
  • DOES NOT APPLY TO SHOTGUNS, BOLT ACTION Rifles, SINGLE-SHOT RIFLES.

*If you buy more than one handgun and/or semi-auto centerfire rifle, each firearm will need to be DROS’ed (processed) individually and 30 days apart. Each firearm will incur FFL fee and state fee.

ASSAULT WEAPON BAN LAW:
The firearm must already be California compliant prior to shipping into California. If it is not, it could be considered an assault weapon based on features alone! California’s definition is complicated. Look up penal code 30515. You can read the basics here: Is It An Assault Weapon? How to buy semi-automatic rifles. – FFL Dealer Sunnyvale (ffl-dealer.com)

There is a 10 days waiting period before you can take your firearm home. The 10 days starts on the day of your first appointment.

Required Documentation HANDGUNS

By law, you must have proper documents to purchase a firearm.  If you are missing any required documents on the first day of our appointment, we will have to reschedule. You can send the documents to me via email if you are not sure if it is acceptable.

You can only purchase handguns that are on the California Handgun Roster. Handguns Certified for Sale | State of California – Department of Justice – Office of the Attorney General

There is an exemption to the roster for single action revolvers. Order only if you know how this exemption works.

Handguns

(semi-auto, single shot, revolvers, pistols, etc.)

ID:

  • DMV ID or Driver’s license
  • Valid military ID with permanent duty station orders posting in California.

Firearm Safety Certificate:

  • If you do not have one, please let me know ahead.  You will be able to take the test prior to filling out the required forms.
  • Please come 15 min. early (except for 3pm appointment).

Look at your ID/driver’s license:

  • ID/driver’s license without current address?  Go here:  https://ffl-dealer.com/start-here/#noaddress
  • ID/driver’s license “Federal Limits Apply”?  Go here: https://ffl-dealer.com/start-here/#fedlimitapply
  • Not a US Citizen?
    • Bring your permanent residency card (green card).
    • I-94 with a hunting license is required for those with work visas.
  • ID/driver’s license with “Real ID” w current address: – You are good to go!!

FSD Requirement: All firearm will require a firearm safety device: read more here: https://ffl-dealer.com/start-here/#fsd

What is 1–30-day law?

You can only receive one handgun, or one semi-automatic centerfire rifle a 30 day period. 

  • This rule does apply to ALL handguns & semi-auto centerfire rifles.
  • DOES NOT APPLY TO SHOTGUNS, BOLT ACTION rifles, SINGLE-SHOT rifles.

If you buy more than one firearm, each firearm will need to be DROS’ed (processed) individually and 30 days apart. Each firearm will incur FFL fee and state fee.

Bring one of the following proofs of residency:

Utility bill from within the past three months that bears on its face the individual’s name and either of the following:

The individual’s current residential address as declared on the DROS form; or
The individual’s residential address as it appears on his or her California Driver License or California Identification Card, or change of address attachment thereto.

“Utility bill” means a statement of charges for providing service to the individual’s residence by either a physical connection (i.e., hard wired Internet, telephone connection or cable connection, or a water or gas pipeline connection) or a telemetric connection (i.e., satellite television or radio broadcast service) to a non-mobile, fixed antenna reception device.

Residential lease that bears the individual’s name and either of the following:

  • The individual’s current residential address as declared on the DROS form; or
  • The individual’s address as it appears on his or her California Driver License or California Identification Card, or change of address attachment thereto.

“Residential lease” means either of the following:

  • A signed and dated contract by which the individual (tenant) agrees to pay a specified monetary sum or provide other consideration for the right to occupy an abode for a specified period of time; or
  • A signed and dated rental agreement by which the individual (tenant) agrees to pay a specified monetary sum or provide other consideration at fixed intervals for the right to occupy an abode.

Property deed that bears the individual’s name and either of the following:

  • The individual’s current residential address as declared on the DROS form; or
  • The individual’s address as it appears on his or her California Driver License or California Identification Card, or change of address attachment thereto. “Property deed” means either or the following:
    • A valid deed of trust for the individual’s property of current residence that identifies the individual as a grantee of the trust; or
    • A valid Certificate of Title issued by a licensed title insurance company that identifies the individual as a title holder to his or her property of current residence.

Current, government-issued license, permit, or registration, other than a California Driver License or California Identification Card, that has a specified expiration date or period of validity. The license, permit, or registration must bear the individual’s name and either of the following:

  • The individual’s current residential address as declared on the DROS form; or
  • The individual’s address as it appears on his or her California Driver License, California Identification Card, or change of address attachment thereto.

One easy proof residency is a fishing license since you can get it the same day without taking a test but by simply filling out a form.  Go here: California Wildlife Internet Sales Home (wildlifelicense.com)

Examples of acceptable proof of residency:

  • Carry Concealed Weapon (CCW) Permit with your current address.
  • California Guard Card
  • Curio and Relic (C &R) Federal Firearms License (03 FFL) with name and address.
  • Current DMV Disabled Placard.
  • Current DMV Registrations.
  • Utility Bill within the last 3 months.
    • Cable bill
    • PG&E bill
    • Gas / Propane bill
    • Alarm bill
  • Resident Hunting License issued by Department of Fish and Wildlife
  • Fishing License: Commercial, Resident Sport, Lifetime, 1, 2, and 10 day licenses issued by the Department of Fish and Wildlife.
  • Signed, dated and rental agreement/contract.

Examples of documents that are NOT acceptable proof of residency:

  • DMV renewal letter.
  • Jury Summons
  • Certificate of Eligibility (COE.)
  • Active Duty Military Spouse ID.
  • U.S. Passport
  • Bank Statement.
  • Brown Card.
  • Cellular Phone bill.
  • Fishing Validations and Report Cards.
  • Hunting license- Standard, Self-Filled.
  • Pay Stub.
  • Pink Slip
  • Mortgage Statement
  • Voter Registration.
  • Medicare / Medi-cal Billing Statement
  • Property tax statement
  • Proof of Auto Insurance
  • Medical Marijuana Card (Federal government prohibits marijuana users from owning firearms).
  • (Pen. Code, § 26845 and Cal. Code Reg., tit. 11, § 4045)

There is a 10 days waiting period before you can take your firearm home. The 10 days starts on the day of your first appointment.

*If you buy more than one handgun and/or semi-auto centerfire rifle, each firearm will need to be DROS’ed (processed) individually and 30 days apart. Each firearm will incur FFL fee and state fee.

Required Documentation AMMO

Some ammo company do not include an invoice which means, I do not know who owns the package. If you order an ammo, please email me your name, the amount and type of ammo, and the company where you ordered it from. FFLDealerSunnyvale@gmail.com

What do I need to bring to a vendor in order to purchase ammunition? What type of documentation? (non-exempt purchasers)

A valid California driver license, California identification card, or Military identification. (Pen. Code §, 28180.). If your California driver license or identification card has “FEDERAL LIMITS APPLY” on the front, you must also present proof of lawful presence in the United States by providing one of the following documents:

  • Valid, unexpired U.S. passport or passport card.
  • Certified copy of U.S. birth certificate.
  • Certification of Birth Abroad (FS-545), Certification of Report of Birth (DS-1350) or Consular Report of Birth Abroad of a Citizen of the United States of America (FS-240), issued by the U.S. Department of State.
  • Valid, unexpired foreign passport with valid U.S. immigrant visa and approved Record of Arrival/ Departure (I-94) form.
  • Certified copy of birth certificate from a U.S. Territory.
  • Certificate of Naturalization or U.S. Citizenship.
  • Valid, unexpired Permanent Resident Card.

    Read more here: Frequently Asked Questions | State of California – Department of Justice – Office of the Attorney General
Required Documentation – ID without your current address

Your ID / Driver’s license must have your current address to purchase rifles or handguns (firearms). If not, you will need to provide evidence that you live in the address that is typed on the background check. This is usually a bit harder for some buyers to provide.

You will need to provide additional documentation of your current address is not on your driver’s license or ID. If must be government related proof such as:

  • Water and / or garbage bill from the city which has your name and address.
  • Car Registration from DMV
  • Hunting license from a state government

Anything that has your name and address that is issued by local or state governments to supplement and complete your ID/ Driver’s license. Again, it my be from a government entity not a private company such as PG&E

  • The Brady Act incorporates the definition of an “identification document” provided by 18 U.S.C. 1028(d)(2), which is set forth in relevant part as follows: [A] document made or issued by or under the authority of the United States Government, a State, political subdivision of a State, a foreign government, political subdivision of a foreign government, an international governmental or an international quasi-governmental organization which, when completed with information concerning a particular individual, is of a type intended or commonly accepted for the purpose of identification of individuals.

You can go to this link to read more about owning a firearm in California: https://oag.ca.gov/firearms/pubfaqs

Required Documentation – ID / Driver’s License with “Federal Limits Apply”:

federal limit apply

CHECK YOUR DRIVER’S LICENSE OR ID RIGHT NOW.
You will need additional documentation to prove you are living here legally even if you were born in U.S.A. The picture on the RIGHT (woman) with the golden bear means you’re good. The picture in the LEFT (man) means you have to provide proof.

  • Valid, unexpired U.S. passport or passport card
  • Certified copy of U.S. birth certificate
  • U.S. Certificate or Consular Report of Birth Abroad of a U.S. Citizen
  • Valid, unexpired foreign passport with valid U.S. immigrant visa and approved Record of Arrival/Departure (I-94) form
  • Certified copy of birth certificate from a U.S. Territory
  • Certificate of Naturalization or U.S. Citizenship
  • Valid, unexpired Permanent Resident Card

If your name, as it appears on the California driver license or identification card that has “FEDERAL LIMITS APPLY” on the front, differs from the name on the document(s) above, you must present one of the following certified documents:

  • An adoption document that contains your legal name as a result of the adoption.
  • A name change document that contains your legal name both before and, as a result of, the name change.
  • A marriage certificate.
  • A dissolution of marriage document that contains your legal name as a result of the court action.
  • A certificate, declaration or registration document verifying the formation of a domestic partnership.
  • A dissolution of domestic partnership document that contains your legal name as a result of the court action. (Cal. Code Reg., tit. 11, § 4045.1.)

If your ID has the golden bear like the picture above then you’re good to go.

Do I need approval to use your FFL services?

Generally, you do not need my permission.

California has very strict firearm regulations. Required documents must be submitted on the first appointment not on the day of pick up.

If you do not have the required documents, you will have to pay additional FFL fee and State fee if you miss the 30th day deadline. I highly suggest that you read the all required document drop-down section before buying a firearm.

As much as I want to help, it is very time consuming business just to do the transfer. I am also just the middle man between you and the seller. If you purchase a firearm, you should ask the seller if what you are buying is California legal or not.

You can read some information about buying handguns, rifles and gun transfers here: https://ffl-dealer.com/gun-tips/

I’ve Ordered! What’s next?

Once you purchased your firearm, the seller will ask who is your FFL and their licenses. See the link of my FFL below. Send the that link or you can download it then send it to them (whatever works).

MY California Firearm Dealer license is 23996

The internet firearm retailer (seller) will then ship the firearm to me (FFL dealer).

Once I (FFL dealer) receive your firearm or ammo, you will receive an Email from me with a link to create your appointment to do the required paperwork.

At the end of our first appointment, you will receive another link to create your second appointment.

You are required to wait 10 days to get approved. Once approved, you can return to pick up your firearm. 10 days x 24 hours and nothing less.

When does the 10 days waiting period start?

10 days starts when I submit the form to State of California (our first scheduled meeting to fill out the paperwork).

———————————————

When you order through an internet retailer, you will either be given a choice of your FFL dealer right before or after your order. If not, you will be asked to send the FFL dealer information of your choice via E-mail after you purchased your firearm. It is not required for you to have a Firearm Safety Certificate (FSD) to purchase online. They only need your money $$.

Here is my FFL information linked.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Gs5QsZXK45LC2pGU_-996SphpTUKQyWO/view


If you have questions, please use this email: FFLDealerSunnyvale@gmail.com

If your package is on hold for pick up and it has not be picked up that same day, please email me to let me know (include the tracking #).

Required Documentation – NOT US CITIZEN (Firearm & Ammo)

If you’re not a US citizen, please bring your permanent visa ID (green card) or other forms to provide proof that you are living here in the good USA legally.

If you have I-94 work visa, please bring I-94 document and your hunting license.

  • ID/driver’s license without current address?  Go here:  https://ffl-dealer.com/start-here/#noaddress
  • ID/driver’s license “Federal Limits Apply”?  Go here: https://ffl-dealer.com/start-here/#fedlimitapply
  • Not a US Citizen?
    • Bring your permanent residency card (green card).
    • I-94 with a hunting license is required for those with work visas.

Buying a handgun – read here: https://ffl-dealer.com/start-here/#handguns

Buying a rifle – read here: https://ffl-dealer.com/start-here/#rifles

Sales Tax !!!

I know that the following website/store do collect CA tax which means you do not have to get proof that you paid sales tax:
Ammunition Depot
Brownells
Buds Gunshop
Gunbroker
Rainer Arms
Target Sport USA

As the business owner, I am liable for any taxes you purchased online since I have been involuntarily obligated by our state to collect used tax of all purchases.

If you cannot provide proof at the time of pickup, you will be charge used tax. If you then get the proof as describe in this paragraph, you’ll receive a refund.

I may request that you provide the receipt prior to the scheduled appointment.

If you do not want to pay additional taxes, please read on. Taxes you’ve paid may not be the local taxes here in California. It maybe taxes from the sellers own state. Simple telling me that you paid tax will not be accepted. This will only work if the receipt has specifically states “CA tax” on the receipt itself.

If you purchased in California, then you’re fine. Gunbroker – Please provide me the Gunbroker receipt.

Contact the seller via email and ask them if the sales tax collected was for California? In your email, please include the words “California sales tax” just in case the owner or seller replies with a simple “yes”. Also, the sales tax you already paid is possibly the seller’s own local tax (not California sales tax).

Example: “Is the sales tax I paid a California sales tax”? Please be specific please in your email. Once you receive that email, please email it to me.

Why do gun dealers have to collect taxes? You can read more about it here: https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/industry/gun-dealers.htm

My Fees

FFL fee Transfer: $53 (firearm, lower receiver, ammo) + Ca State Firearm Transfer fee: $37.19
Additional ammo additional $20 but must be from same company.

For Ammo Only $53 + State fee: $1 or $19 + FFL Fee (for now, no limit on ammo)
Firearm Safety Certificate: $25 (state fee $15 + FFL Fee $10)
Shipping Firearm to another FFL dealer in California or another State $75 which does not include shipping. Shipping average $65-80 depending if it’s a handgun or rifle.

If you purchase more than one firearm/lower receiver/ serialized parts, each firearm will incur a FFL fee $53 and State fee $37.19.

Firearm Safety Device (FSD) (Required by law)

It is required by law that you have a lock on your firearm. Majority of the firearm that comes in do have FSD but I’ll let you know if you do. If you purchased a lower receiver, 100% of the time, they do not come with one.

If I ask you to get one, I need you bring the receipt on your first appointment. The receipt must state “California DOJ” approved firearm safety device. Please double check that it is by going to https://oag.ca.gov/firearms/fsd-chart-retail. Amazon sell them for $6-12 bucks. Please bring your FSD on the 2nd appointment if it is a handgun. If it’s a lower receiver, I just need the receipt.

IT MUST SAY “CALIFORNIA DOJ APPROVED” or it will not be it will not be accepted. You can alternatively purchase it from me for $15.

Read the link below.

If you have children under 18 y/o living in your dwelling, the firearm is used to hurt/kill someone, the owner will be legally liable and the media will also make sure everyone knows what happened.

A safe affidavit will no longer be accepted since it only satisfy California law but not federal law.

Read this FAQ regarding Firearm Safety Device: https://oag.ca.gov/firearms/fsdfaqs

Firearm Safety Certificate (Required by law)

It is required by law that you have a firearm safety certificate. If you do not have your firearm safety cert., I can provide you the certificate for $25. You will have to take the test and will be given two chances to pass. If you fail the second time, you will have to comeback another day and pay again.

You can find sample test by Googling online so study before the test.

What kind of firearms can I purchase?

In many states, you can buy any type of firearms. Even cannon can be purchased but not here in California. Our politicians have severely restricted our 2nd Amendment rights. They have focused to find every possible way to limit, hinder, and frustrate every law abiding citizens ability to own a firearms.

HANDGUN Purchase:

You must check the California Handgun Roster to make sure that the pistol or revolver you intend to buy is listed. If it’s not listed, you CANNOT own it here in California. Check the list here:https://www.oag.ca.gov/firearms/certified-handguns/search

The only way to purchase used off-roster handgun is through a private party transfer (person to person transfer). Off-roster means handguns that are not on the roster. Peace officers are allowed to purchase brand new off-roster handguns. You can also own brand new off-roster handguns through a lineal descendent from out of state via gift (your sons/daughters, grandparents, great grandson or great grandparents). You cannot absolutely NOT get it by way of cousins, sisters / brother, step-parents, etc. (it must be blood lines through lineal descendent).

HANDGUN PURCHASE REQUIRES PROOF OF RESIDENCY FOR THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA (keep reading to find out what you need).

RIFLE or Long Gun Purchase:

If the rifle is single shot (manually reloaded after each shot) such as a bolt action, lever action, hunting rifles, then it can be legally be owned here in California (50 caliber rifle is illegal).

If the rifle is a semi-automatic then you have two choices.

  • Fixed mag
  • Non-fixed mag

You can read the laws here:

https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=30515.&lawCode=PEN#:~:text=(a)%20Notwithstanding%20Section%2030510%2C,the%20action%20of%20the%20weapon.

If you are buying a new or used semi-automatic rifle, please make sure it is not listed on this banned list:
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=PEN&division=10.&title=4.&part=6.&chapter=2.&article=1.

Magazine Restriction:

A magazine is an ammunition storage and feeding device for a repeating firearm, either integral within the gun (internal/fixed magazine) or externally attached (detachable magazine). The magazine functions by holding several cartridges within itself and sequentially pushing each one into a position where it may be readily loaded into the barrel chamber by the firearm’s moving action.

California has a 10 round or less magazine restriction for rifles and handguns. Anything over this limit is illegal.

Are large-capacity magazines legal?

Generally, it is illegal to buy, manufacture, import, keep for sale, expose for sale, give or lend any large-capacity magazine (able to accept more than 10 rounds) in California. However, continued possession of large-capacity magazines that you owned in California prior to January 1, 2000, is legal provided you are not otherwise prohibited. A person prohibited from possessing firearms is also prohibited from owning or possessing any magazines or ammunition.

(Pen. Code, §§16150, subd. (b), 30305, 32310.)

I only have a H1B visa or Other type of temporary visa (not permanent resident visa or green card holders)

YES, you can purchase a firearm! All you need is a hunting permit or license. If you leave the country permanently, just do a PPT prior to leaving the US.

You can start here:https://wildlife.ca.gov/Hunter-Education

Private Party Transfer (PPT) Questions

Can I purchase off roster handguns from cops?
Please be aware that you can only purchase an off-roster firearm from certain peace officer (city cops/correctional officers – see Penal Code 32000 (b)(4)) and provide some sort of proof which police department he/she belongs. “Trust me, I’m a cop” will not do. If you cannot provide a proof before the appointment, then please use another FFL dealer.

Penal Code 32000 (b)(6) – these group of peace officers can only sell to other police officer.
A person licensed pursuant to Penal Code sections 26700 to 26915, inclusive, shall not process the sale or transfer of an unsafe handgun between a person who has obtained an unsafe handgun pursuant to an exemption specified in Penal Code section 32000, subdivision (b), paragraph (6) and a person who is not exempt from the requirements of Penal Code section 32000 (Pen. Code, § 32000, subd. (c)(1)).

https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=32000.&lawCode=PEN#:~:text=(a)%20(1)%20A,jail%20not%20exceeding%20one%20year.

PPT can only occur if the seller (owner of the gun) and the buyer are present to do the transfer. This is a requirement from California DOJ.

Required documentations remains the same.

PPT buyer and seller must be a California resident.

PPT cost is set by the State of California – $37.19 + $10.00 = $47.19 total

If the buyer fails the background check, the seller (original owner of the firearm) will be required by law to do the background check + FFL Fee $47.19.

What if I purchased a used firearms (online) outside California?

If you purchased a firearms outside California, the firearm is considered like a “new firearm” transfer. If it is a handgun, it must be on the California Handgun Roster (https://www.oag.ca.gov/firearms/certified-handguns/search).

What do I need to do the PPT of my firearm?

Please read the “documentations” notes above.

Both parties must be present on the first meeting. The firearm will need to be logged into my bound books. If the buyer’s background check fails, then the seller will need to pay $37.19 + $53 FFL fee to get the firearm back. Once a firearm is logged into my bound books, to return it to the owner, it requires a background check by law.

On the day of pickup, only the buyer will need to show up.

Firearm Safety Device:

It is required by law that you have a lock on your firearm. If you do not have one, please bring a lock for the firearm.

If you have children under 18 y/o living in your dwelling, the firearm is used to hurt/kill someone, the owner will be in legal trouble.

FSD – firearm safety device is required for PPT. See FSD notes above.

Read this FAQ regarding Firearm Safety Device: https://oag.ca.gov/firearms/fsdfaqs

What if I have “Federal Limits Apply” on my ID/driver’s license?

If the purchaser is not a U.S. Citizen, then he or she is required to demonstrate that he or she is legally within the United States by providing the firearms dealer with documentation containing his/her Alien Registration Number or I-94 Number. See the “documentation” above.

If you’re 18-20 years of age

For civilian citizens aged 18-20, the hunting license is required for, and limited to *long gun purchases. *18-20 year olds may no longer purchase semi-automatic center fire rifles or their corresponding lower receivers. You are also not allowed to purchase handguns.

18-20 years old can own firearms through familial transfers. Ask your parents to buy it for you and they then can give you the gun by filling out a form linked below.

https://oag.ca.gov/sites/all/files/agweb/pdfs/firearms/forms/oplaw.pdf

Familial Firearm Transfer

Watch this handsome devil:
Interstate Familial Transfer https://youtu.be/AGFo4I61Xdo
Intra Familial Transfer (within California) https://youtu.be/wv5RpDL18fk

If You’re Moving to California

If you’re crazy enough to move to California with your firearms, here’s what you need to know.

  • Don’t call me or email me.
  • You do not need a FFL dealer.
  • You do not need to ship it to a FFL dealer.
  • Ship it with your moving company or fly it over.
    • check with the moving company.
    • check with the airline about their policy regarding carrying a firearm in your CHECK IN luggage.
  • If it’s an assault weapon, then get rid of it.
    • If you can add or delete certain features then you maybe you’ll be able to keep it. Read Penal Code 30515
  • If it’s a handgun that’s not on the roster, then you’re still fine. You own it so you can have it.
  • If you will be moving here, make sure you buy all the handguns you want that is NOT on the roster before moving. Once you’re a California resident, you cannot buy any off roster handgun unless you are willing to pay top dollars via PPT.
  • You have Ammo?
    • Go to the range and have fun.
    • Sell it before moving.
    • Give it to a friend.
    • Talk to the moving company if they allow it.

You have 60 days to report the firearms. Fill this PDF, follow the direction, and send it in: https://oag.ca.gov/sites/all/files/agweb/pdfs/firearms/forms/volreg.pdf

Firearm Storage Fee

The 30 calendar days will commence once the firearm is delivered to the FFL office and the client (buyer) received an email from the FFL Dealer Sunnyvale to schedule your first appointment. A $1/day will be charged from the 31st day until the 40th day. A $3 per day will be charged from the 41st day until it is picked up.

Customers have 30 calendar days to pick up transferred firearms/ammo, unless other arrangements have been made between the customer and the FFL Dealer Manager (any arrangement can only occur once and you must notify me). Customers that have not picked up by will be assessed a $1/per-day storage fee after the 30th day then $3/per day fee PER FIREARM or per package of ammo after the 40th/day until either the firearm/package of ammo has been picked up or the value of the firearm or the cost of labor has been reached. Once the storage fee exceeds the cost of labor and/or the value of the firearm, the firearm(s) will be considered abandoned and will become the property of FFL Dealer Sunnyvale.