Steps in buying a gun or rifle.

What Do I need to know?

Quick facts:

  1. You can purchase as much firearm you want online that ships to an FFL. HOWEVER, you can only receive one firearm (handgun & rifle) per 30 days from your local FFL dealer. This law does NOT include shotguns, single shot / bolt action rifles.
  2. I must have the firearm in my possession to do the transfer so wait before scheduling an appointment.
  3. Please read about shipping below if you want to get your firearm in a more timely manner, especially if being shipped via FedEx.
    1. It is illegal for you to pick-up your own firearm at the post-office, UPS, FedEX,or other shipping company.
  4. There is a 10 days waiting period for you to take your firearm home. The 10 days starts on the day of your first appointment.
  5. You can only purchase handguns that are listed in the California Handgun Roster. Those who are peace officers, California residents making PPT, and intra-familial transfers are exempted.
  6. If you buy more than one firearm, each firearm will need to be DROS'ed (processed) individually and 30 days apart. Each firearm will incur FFL fee and state fee. THIS ONLY APPLIES to more than one handguns or a combination of a handgun and a centerfire semi-auto rifle. Does not include shotguns, bolt action rifles, single shots.
  7. AMMO purchase is unlimited but it must be from the same company.
  8. It is required that each firearm has a "FSD" or firearm safety device which prevents the firearm from discharging. Each firearm usually includes a FSD. Used firearms and some new ones do come in without one. If FSD is not included then you must purchase one within 30 days of the transfer. I will inform you if you should require one. If you do not have it on the day of pick-up then you must purchase from me for $15.
  9. The firearm must already be California compliant prior to shipping into California. If it is not, it is considered an assault weapon based on features alone! California's definition is complicated see here:https://ffl-dealer.com/firearmlaw/

Do I need approval to use your FFL services?

Yes, you do. I need to know that you have read the information and you're aware of the consequences if you cannot furnish me the required documents. Once I receive your email, I will forward you my FFL dealer and state licenses to send to the seller once you have emailed me the statement below.

Please copy and paste the following statement when you email me along with any questions that you may have about ordering online at FFLDealerSunnyvale@gmail.com :

I have read the information on www.FFL-dealer.com/ID. Furthermore, I am aware that I will provide the necessary document according to the law. If I do not submit the necessary documents, I know that I will not receive my firearm. My firearm can potentially be returned to the seller if I do not provide the necessary documents in one month time. Lastly, I will provide the necessary proof that I paid for California sales tax and if I don't provide such proof, I will pay the used tax owed.

I've Ordered! What's next?

Quickly:

  • Once you purchased your firearm, the seller will ask who is your FFL and their licenses. See the link of my FFL below. Send the that link or you can download it then send it to them (whatever works).
    • MY California Firearm Dealer license is 23996
  • The internet firearm retailer (seller) will ship the firearm to a FFL dealer.
  • Once I (FFL dealer) receive your firearm, you will receive an Email from me with a link to create your appointment to do the required paperwork.
  • At the end of our first appointment, you will receive another link to create your second appointment.
  • You are required to wait 10 days to get approved. Once approved, you can return to pick up your firearm. 10 days x 24 hours and nothing less.
  • When does the 10 days waiting period start?
    • 10 days starts when I submit the form to State of California (our first scheduled meeting to fill out the paperwork).

---------------------------------------------

My Process:

When you order through an internet retailer, you will either be given a choice of your FFL dealer right before or after your order. If not, you will be asked to send the FFL dealer information of your choice via E-mail.

Here is my FFL information (the seller needs to open the link to read - some are too lazy to read it)

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1nJNR9PIxtFsRkYdZGz_WXfxR4G4wsF6ReB708Zu2mCo/edit?usp=sharing

You don't have to pick the FFL dealer that the online retailer have on file, you can direct them who you chose. You're the buyer, you pick and they will abide by your choice.

They will then ship the firearm via FedEx, UPS, USPS. USPS and UPS are on time often enough but FEDEX Ground is always ONE WEEK LATE (from the date stated on the shipping) and never on time. Please check your app to see if it was delivered on picked up. Once you're notified that it has been delivered, you should get an email from me that same day or the following day. Please check your spam. The email I use for clients is FFLDealerSunnyvale@gmail.com

If your package is on hold for pick up and it has not be picked up that same day, please email me to let me know (include the tracking #).

Once I receive the firearm, you will receive an email link to schedule the first meeting. The initial meeting will take 30 minutes to 45 minutes long.

Once you've completed the paperwork, you will receive another link to arrange the next meeting (10 days later - 10 days x 24 hours). When you return after the required 10th day, you will have to recertify the forms, sign, and go through the handgun safety demonstration before you can take the handgun home (this will take about 10-20 minutes long).

Required Documents for Firearm Purchase

The list of documents are required by law to obtain your firearm. Please do not purchase your firearm if you are unable to provide these documents.

If you are missing any required documents on the first day of our appointment, we will have to reschedule. You can send the documents to me via email if you are not sure if it's acceptable.

For firearms:

What identification is required by law to purchase a firearm?

Clear evidence of identity and age is defined as a valid California driver license or a valid California identification card issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles. Military identification is also acceptable if accompanied by permanent duty station orders indicating a posting in California, but the dealer must retain copies of both documents.

Temporary driver licenses and temporary identification cards are not accepted forms of proof of identity and age.

Read more here:https://oag.ca.gov/firearms/dlrfaqs#14G

Additional requirements for handguns:
What documentation is acceptable proof of residency for handgun purchasers?

Utility bill from within the past three months that bears on its face the individual's name and either of the following:


The individual's current residential address as declared on the DROS form; or
The individual's residential address as it appears on his or her California Driver License or California Identification Card, or change of address attachment thereto.


"Utility bill" means a statement of charges for providing service to the individual's residence by either a physical connection (i.e., hard wired Internet, telephone connection or cable connection, or a water or gas pipeline connection) or a telemetric connection (i.e., satellite television or radio broadcast service) to a non-mobile, fixed antenna reception device.
Residential lease that bears the individual's name and either of the following:

  • The individual's current residential address as declared on the DROS form; or
  • The individual's address as it appears on his or her California Driver License or California Identification Card, or change of address attachment thereto.

"Residential lease" means either of the following:

  • A signed and dated contract by which the individual (tenant) agrees to pay a specified monetary sum or provide other consideration for the right to occupy an abode for a specified period of time; or
  • A signed and dated rental agreement by which the individual (tenant) agrees to pay a specified monetary sum or provide other consideration at fixed intervals for the right to occupy an abode.


Property deed that bears the individual's name and either of the following:

  • The individual's current residential address as declared on the DROS form; or
  • The individual's address as it appears on his or her California Driver License or California Identification Card, or change of address attachment thereto. “Property deed" means either or the following:
    • A valid deed of trust for the individual's property of current residence that identifies the individual as a grantee of the trust; or
    • A valid Certificate of Title issued by a licensed title insurance company that identifies the individual as a title holder to his or her property of current residence.


Current, government-issued license, permit, or registration, other than a California Driver License or California Identification Card, that has a specified expiration date or period of validity. The license, permit, or registration must bear the individual's name and either of the following:

  • The individual's current residential address as declared on the DROS form; or
  • The individual's address as it appears on his or her California Driver License, California Identification Card, or change of address attachment thereto.
Examples of acceptable proof of residency:

  • Carry Concealed Weapon (CCW) Permit.
  • Certificate of Eligibility (COE.)Curio and Relic (C &R) Federal Firearms License (03 FFL) with name and address.
  • Current DMV Disabled Placard.
  • Current DMV Registrations.
  • Electricity, gas, cable bill with purchaser's name on it from within the last 3 months.
  • Resident Hunting License issued by Department of Fish and Wildlife
  • Fishing License: Commercial, Resident Sport, Lifetime, 1, 2, and 10 day licenses issued by the Department of Fish and Wildlife.
  • Signed, dated and notarized rental agreement/contract.


Examples of documents that are NOT acceptable proof of residency:

  • Active Duty Military Spouse ID.
  • Bank Statement.
  • Brown Card.
  • Cellular Phone bill.
  • Fishing Validations and Report Cards.
  • Hunting license- Standard, Self-Filled.
  • Pay Stub.
  • Voter Registration.
  • (Pen. Code, § 26845 and Cal. Code Reg., tit. 11, § 4045)

ID or Driver’s license without current address (Federal law) :

You will need to provide additional documentation of your current address. If must be government related proof such as:
  • Water and / or garbage bill from the city which has your name and address.
  • Car Registration from DMV
  • Hunting license from a state government
Anything that has your name and address that is issued by local or state governments to supplement and complete your ID/ Driver’s license. Again, it my be from a government entity not a private company such as PG&E


  • The Brady Act incorporates the definition of an "identification document" provided by 18 U.S.C. 1028(d)(2), which is set forth in relevant part as follows: [A] document made or issued by or under the authority of the United States Government, a State, political subdivision of a State, a foreign government, political subdivision of a foreign government, an international governmental or an international quasi-governmental organization which, when completed with information concerning a particular individual, is of a type intended or commonly accepted for the purpose of identification of individuals.


ID / Driver’s License with “Federal Limits Apply”:
You will need additional documentation to prove you are here legally.

  • Valid, unexpired U.S. passport or passport card
  • Certified copy of U.S. birth certificate
  • U.S. Certificate or Consular Report of Birth Abroad of a U.S. Citizen
  • Valid, unexpired foreign passport with valid U.S. immigrant visa and approved Record of Arrival/Departure (I-94) form
  • Certified copy of birth certificate from a U.S. Territory
  • Certificate of Naturalization or U.S. Citizenship
  • Valid, unexpired Permanent Resident Card

DO NOT ORDER YOUR FIREARM WITHOUT ALL THE REQUIRED DOCUMENTS ARE READY.

You can go to this link to read more about owning a firearm in California: https://oag.ca.gov/firearms/pubfaqs

Do I have to pay sales tax again?


It depends if you can give me a proof that you've paid the sales tax or not. A receipt that states "Ca Sales Tax" will be great. If you do not have a receipt that states that the sales tax is from California, then I will need an email from the seller stating that they have collected the sales tax. A simple email asking their customer service (before or after purchase) whether they collect "California sales tax" with an answer stating they do collect CA sales tax will be a good enough proof for me.

Gunbroker buyers - All I will need is your receipt to prove that you purchased it from them. I will need the receipt from Gunbroker - must have Gun Broke logo or the words "Gun Broker" on the receipt to be accepted. Screen shots will do.

If your receipt does not indicate "CA sales tax" then it is assumed that the sales tax is collected for the state where the seller is located.

Contact the seller via email and ask them if the tax collected was for California? In your email, please include "California sales tax" just in case the owner or seller replies with a simple "yes".

Example: "Is the sales tax I paid a California sales tax"?

The tax you paid could be the sellers own local tax. You must be specific please.


Once you receive that email, keep it where you can find it since I will ask for it on our first meeting.


Please do NOT send it before our first meeting since it will be buried with the other 100 emails I get every other day.


You will be charged used tax if you cannot provide me a proof. The tax rate is 9.125.

DELIVERING AND REGISTERING FIREARMS OR AMMUNITION FOR OUT-OF-STATE RETAILERS

When a California Federal Firearms Licensed dealer (FFL) completes the registration and transfer paperwork and delivers a firearm or ammunition to a California purchaser on behalf of either an out-of-state private party or an out-of-state retailer who is not registered with the CDTFA, the California FFL dealer is presumed to be the retailer of the firearm or ammunition and generally owes sales tax on the total amount of the sales price including any service charge or handling fees but excluding the DROS fee. This is by operation of law, only the California FFL dealer possessing the firearm or ammunition has authority to transfer title to the purchaser. As a California firearms dealer, you should obtain a copy of the sales contract or invoice from the out of state seller or the purchaser in order to determine the proper amount of tax due on the sale.

Note: On and after January 1, 1999, the CA DOJ transfer fee is not subject to tax.

OUT OF STATE RETAILER'S OBLIGATION TO REGISTER WITH CDTFA

If you sell firearms, ammunition, and related accessories, you must register with the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration (CDTFA) for a seller's permit, file sales and use tax returns, and make payments for tax due on your sales or purchases. You can use our online registration system to quickly and easily register for a seller's permit.

Importers, manufacturers and dealers (retailers) of firearms in the United States must first register with the United States Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) to obtain a Federal Firearms License (FFL) before making any sales of firearms. It is unlawful for any person other than a registered FFL holder to make sales or transfers of firearms between private parties or across state lines.

See this link too:https://ffl-dealer.com/taxes/

Required Documents for AMMO

What do I need to bring to a the FFL office in order to purchase ammunition?

What type of documentation? (non-exempt purchasers)


A valid California driver license, California identification card, or Military identification. (Pen. Code §, 28180.). If your California driver license or identification card has “FEDERAL LIMITS APPLY” on the front, you must also present proof of lawful presence in the United States by providing one of the following documents:

Valid, unexpired U.S. passport or passport card.
Certified copy of U.S. birth certificate.
Certification of Birth Abroad (FS-545), Certification of Report of Birth (DS-1350) or Consular Report of Birth Abroad of a Citizen of the United States of America (FS-240), issued by the U.S. Department of State.
Valid, unexpired foreign passport with valid U.S. immigrant visa and approved Record of Arrival/ Departure (I-94) form.
Certified copy of birth certificate from a U.S. Territory.
Certificate of Naturalization or U.S. Citizenship.
Valid, unexpired Permanent Resident Card.

If your name, as it appears on the California driver license or identification card that has “FEDERAL LIMITS APPLY” on the front, differs from the name on the document(s) above, you must present one of the following certified documents:

An adoption document that contains your legal name as a result of the adoption.
A name change document that contains your legal name both before and, as a result of, the name change.
A marriage certificate.
A dissolution of marriage document that contains your legal name as a result of the court action.
A certificate, declaration or registration document verifying the formation of a domestic partnership.
A dissolution of domestic partnership document that contains your legal name as a result of the court action. (Cal. Code Reg., tit. 11, § 4045.1.)

All other AMMO questions:https://www.oag.ca.gov/firearms/apfaqs

https://www.oag.ca.gov/firearms/apfaqs

What's your fee?

FFL fee Transfer: $53 (firearm, lower receiver, ammo)

Ca State Firearm Transfer fee: $37.19

For Ammo State fee: $1 or $19 + FFL Fee (for now, no limit on ammo)

Additional ammo FFL Fee if you’ve purchased a firearm and ammo together - $20 each but must be from same company.

Private Party Transfer (PPT) - $47.19 total (please scroll down about PPT information).

Firearm Safety Certificate: $25 (state fee $15 + FFL Fee $10)

Shipping Firearm to another FFL dealer in California or another State.

For ammo only purchase, no limit ($53 + $1 or $19 depending if you purchased a firearm in the last two decades).


If you’re purchasing a firearm, I suggest you also purchase ammo since it will only cost you $20 more and save you time getting in line if you buy it locally. There is no limit -20 ammo or 5000 ammo. Must be from same company (It is time consuming to pick up several boxes on different dates).


If you purchase more than one firearm/lower receiver/ serialized parts, each firearm will incur a FFL fee $53 and State fee $37.19.


As of July 2021, you can only purchase one firearm per 30 days per California law. California DOJ will not approve more than one firearm per submission through the DES DROS system. Unfortunately, each firearm will be a separate appointment and submission thus it will be additional cost to you. Online retail stores will allow you to buy two or more firearm but it will take one month per firearm per DROS submission for you to have it in your possession.

Firearm Safety Device (FSD)

Firearm Safety Device:

It is required by law that you have a lock on your firearm. Majority of the firearm that comes in do have FSD but I'll let you know if you do. If you purchased a lower receiver, 100% of the time, they do not come with one.


If I ask you to get one, I need you bring the receipt on your first appointment. The receipt must state "California DOJ" approved firearm safety device. Amazon sell them for $6-12 bucks. Please bring your FSD on the 1st or 2nd appointment. If it's a lower receiver, I just need the receipt.

IT MUST SAY "CALIFORNIA DOJ APPROVED" or it will not be it will not be accepted. You can alternatively purchase it from me for $45.

Read the link below.

If you have children under 18 y/o living in your dwelling, the firearm is used to hurt/kill someone, the owner will be legally liable and the media will also make sure everyone knows what happened.

If you have a Lock Box or a Gun Safe, you can sign the affidavit. If you want to sign this form, please let me know so that I can prepare the form for you to sign. You will need to know the maker / model of the lock box / gun safe.

Read this FAQ regarding Firearm Safety Device: https://oag.ca.gov/firearms/fsdfaqs

18-21 years of age?

For civilian citizens aged 18-20, the hunting license is required for, and limited to *long gun purchases. *18-20 year olds may no longer purchase semi-automatic center fire rifles or their corresponding lower receivers.

Shipment & Receiving of your firearm

As you know, I open at 3pm Monday, Wednesday, and Fridays. I am actually here from 3pm to 5pm Tuesday and Thursdays too just so I can receive the packages. Unfortunately, UPS, USPS, and FedEx deliver to businesses between 9am-3pm making it hard for me to get all deliveries. If you you're in a hurry, I suggest that you use another FFL dealer to avoid any shipping issues.

What can you do?
  • United States Post Office
    • Leave it as is. I will pick it up the next business day.
  • USP
    • NO need to do anything since the delivery man delivers after 3pm.
    • Just in case you receive a notification from UPS, all my "hold for pick up" is automatic and it is at this address: 1245 Hammerwood Ave, Sunnyvale, CA 94089
  • FedEx
    • FedEx Ground - Extremely horrible shipper that is one week late all the time. Don't count on it being on time. Super Unreliable!! Add 7 to 10 days to the original date of arrival.
    • Wait until the seller ships your firearm. Once it is shipped, call / email them to place a "hold for pick up" at a FedEx store.
      • Address: FedEx Office Ship Center 1286 Lawrence Station Rd, Sunnyvale, CA 94089
If you place a "hold for pick up" , then I can pick it up the same day or the next business day when it arrives in Sunnyvale. The seller may or may not be able to place a hold but you can try. Don't sweat it if they do not allow it. Your firearm will eventually arrive.

Do I need to get a Firearm Safety Certificate prior to my appointment?

No. If you do not have your firearm safety cert., I can provide your the certificate for $25. You will have to take the test and will be given two chances to pass. If you fail the second time, you will have to pay again.

You can find sample test online so study before the test.

Online Purchase

You're here because you've decided to purchase a firearm on the internet. Almost all internet firearm retail shops will sell you anything you want without any requirements. All you need is money!

You can purchase one or more firearms but it must be shipped to a FFL dealer or a gun shops (they possess FFL / permits) per federal and state laws.

All ammo & firearms (labeled by the government as a firearm), lower receiver, handguns, rifles, etc.) must go through a FFL dealer. Other components such as a rifle scope, upper receiver, barrel, etc will not require a FFL. These can be shipped directly to your house.

As of July 2021, a California resident can only purchase one rifle or one handgun in a 30 days period. If you purchased two firearms online, it will be processed 30 days apart. Each time will incur an FFL Fee and State fee. CA DOJ does not allow two firearms to be DROS'ed at the same time. Like I said above, you can buy two or more firearms but you will just have to comeback every 30 days for the subsequent firearms.


Is there a limit on the number of handguns that I can own or purchase?

There is no limit to the number of handguns that you may own but you are generally limited to purchasing no more than one handgun in any 30-day period. Handgun transactions related to law enforcement, private party transfers, returns to owners, and certain other specific circumstances are exempt from the one-handgun-per-30-day purchase limit.

(Pen. Code,§ 27535.)

Do not pick-up your Firearm at the shipping company.

IT IS ILLEGAL FOR THE BUYER (that's you) TO PICK UP THE PACKAGE AT UPS, USPS, FEDEX, or any shipping company.

Shipping FFL to FFL

My FFL shipping to other FFL dealers in California or other State.

FFL Fee: $75 which will be shipped in several days to10 days (packaged and shipped) (shipping fee not).


Here are some example of a shipment fee to Florida.

Here are some shipping price examples:
BOX size: 52inches/9inches/5inches box
17 pounds rifle
UPS 3day $53
UPS 2nd day air $70

7 pound rifle
UPS 3day $49
UPS 2nd day air $65


Box size : 40/8.5/4 inches box
17 pound rifle
UPS 3day $42
UPS 2nd day air $58

7 pound rifle
UPS 3day $24
UPS 2nd day air $38

What kind of firearms can I purchase?

In many states, you can buy any type of firearms. Even cannon can be purchased but not here in California. Our politicians have severally restricted our 2nd Amendment rights. They have focused to find every possible way to limit,, hinder, and frustrate every law abiding citizens ability to own a firearms.


HANDGUN Purchase:

You must check the California Handgun Roster to make sure that the pistol or revolver you intend to buy is listed. If it's not listed, you CANNOT own it here in California. Check the list here:https://www.oag.ca.gov/firearms/certified-handguns/search

The only way to purchase used off-roster handgun is through a private party transfer (person to person transfer). Off-roster means handguns that are not on the roster. Peace officers are allowed to purchase brand new off-roster handguns. You can also own brand new off-roster handguns through a lineal descendent from out of state via gift (your sons/daughters, grandparents, great grandson or great grandparents). You cannot absolutely NOT get it by way of cousins, sisters / brother, step-parents, etc. (it must be blood lines through lineal descendent).

HANDGUN PURCHASE REQUIRES PROOF OF RESIDENCY FOR THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA (keep reading to find out what you need).

RIFLE or Long Gun Purchase:

If the rifle is single shot (manually reloaded after each shot) such as a bolt action, lever action, hunting rifles, then it can be legally be owned here in California (50 caliber rifle is illegal).

If the rifle is a semi-automatic then you have two choices.

  • Fixed mag
  • Non-fixed mag

Please pay attention to these restrictions that I put together here:https://ffl-dealer.com/firearmlaw/

You can also read the laws here:

https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=30515.&lawCode=PEN#:~:text=(a)%20Notwithstanding%20Section%2030510%2C,the%20action%20of%20the%20weapon.

If you are buying a new or used semi-automatic rifle, please make sure it is not listed on this banned list:
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=PEN&division=10.&title=4.&part=6.&chapter=2.&article=1.

Magazine Restriction:

A magazine is an ammunition storage and feeding device for a repeating firearm, either integral within the gun (internal/fixed magazine) or externally attached (detachable magazine). The magazine functions by holding several cartridges within itself and sequentially pushing each one into a position where it may be readily loaded into the barrel chamber by the firearm's moving action.

California has a 10 round or less magazine restriction for rifles and handguns. Anything over this limit is illegal.

Are large-capacity magazines legal?

Generally, it is illegal to buy, manufacture, import, keep for sale, expose for sale, give or lend any large-capacity magazine (able to accept more than 10 rounds) in California. However, continued possession of large-capacity magazines that you owned in California prior to January 1, 2000, is legal provided you are not otherwise prohibited. A person prohibited from possessing firearms is also prohibited from owning or possessing any magazines or ammunition.

(Pen. Code, §§16150, subd. (b), 30305, 32310.)

Can someone on temporary Visa own a firearm? I only have a H1B visa?

YES! All you need is a hunting permit or license.


You can start here:https://wildlife.ca.gov/Hunter-Education

Private Party Transfer (PPT) Questions??

PPT can only occur if the seller (owner of the gun) and the buyer are present to do the transfer. This is a requirement from California DOJ.

PPT buyer and seller must be a California resident.


PPT cost is set by the State of California - $37.19 + $10.00 = $47.19 total

If the buyer fails the background check, the seller (original owner of the firearm) will be required by law to do the background check + FFL Fee ($37.19 + $53 = $90.19 total).

Where do I start?

Fill out my form here: https://ffl-dealer.com/contact/

Please give me three different dates with time so I can reply with the dates I am available.

There is no need to call me. If you have a question, just include it in the form.


What if I purchased a used firearmsoutside California?

Purchase of firearms outside California is considered like a "new firearm" transfer. If it is a handgun, it must be on the California Handgun Roster (https://www.oag.ca.gov/firearms/certified-handguns/search).

What do I need to do the PPT of my firearm?

Please read the question: "What do I need when I come in for my appointment?"

Both parties must be present on the first meeting. The firearm will need to be logged into my bound books. If the buyer's background check fails, then the seller will need to pay $37.19 + $53 FFL fee to get the firearm back. Once a firearm is logged into my bound books, to return it to the owner, it requires a background check by law.

On the day of pickup, only the buyer will need to show up.

Firearm Safety Device:

It is required by law that you have a lock on your firearm. If you do not have one, please bring a lock for the firearm. I can provide one for $30.

If you have children under 18 y/o living in your dwelling, the firearm is used to hurt/kill someone, the owner will be in legal trouble.

If you have a Lock Box or a Gun Safe, you can sign the affidavit. If you want to sign this form, please let me know so that I can prepare the form for you to sign. You will need to know the maker / model of the lock box / gun safe.

Read this FAQ regarding Firearm Safety Device: https://oag.ca.gov/firearms/fsdfaqs

What if I have "Federal Limits Apply" on my ID/driver's license?

If the purchaser is not a U.S. Citizen, then he or she is required to demonstrate that he or she is legally within the United States by providing the firearms dealer with documentation containing his/her Alien Registration Number or I-94 Number.

Familial Firearm Transfer

Watch this handsome devil:
Interstate Familial Transfer https://youtu.be/AGFo4I61Xdo
Intra Familial Transfer (within California) https://youtu.be/wv5RpDL18fk

Moving to California

If you're crazy enough to move to California with your firearms, here's what you need to know.
  • Don't call me or email me.
  • You do not need a FFL dealer.
  • You do not need to ship it to a FFL dealer.
  • Ship it with your moving company or fly it over.
    • check with the moving company.
    • check with the airline about their firearm policy.
  • If it's an assault weapon, then get rid of it.
    • Google California penal code 30515
    • If you can add or delete certain features then you maybe able to keep it.
      • https://ffl-dealer.com/firearmlaw/
  • If it's a handgun that's not on the roster, then you're still fine. You own it so you can have it.
  • If you will be moving here, make sure you buy all the handguns you want that is NOT on the roster before moving. Once you're a California resident, you cannot buy it anymore unless you are willing to pay top dollars.
  • You have Ammo?
    • Go to the range and have fun.
    • Sell it before moving.
    • Give it to a friend.
    • Talk to the moving company if they allow it.
You have 60 days to report the firearms. Fill this PDF, follow the direction, and send it in: https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=&ved=2ahUKEwim5tyLyNr0AhXLWM0KHe-TCBEQFnoECAMQAQ&url=https%3A%2F%2Foag.ca.gov%2Fsites%2Fall%2Ffiles%2Fagweb%2Fpdfs%2Ffirearms%2Fforms%2Fvolreg.pdf&usg=AOvVaw1rTuX9p8riwnx2Knj3vzF7
Purchasing Firearms & Fees

Other info you need to know

Most of your questions will be answered if you take the time to read the following information.

Handgun Purchase FAQ

Handgun Purchase and FAQ

Rifle Purchase FAQ

Rifles

AMMO Purchase FAQ

We are authorized by the State of California to transfer ammo. Click on photo to read more...

California Used Tax

Online purchases are subject to California sales tax.